Huawei in Europe

Huawei's European activities began in 2000 with the opening of an R&D centre in Stockholm. Since Huawei established its operations in Europe it has been focusing on customer-centric innovation, strong partnership and building a close cooperation with nearly all main carriers in Europe.

In 2015, Huawei ranked 4th on the European Patent Office's ranking of companies by quantity of applications.

Today Huawei has 2 regional offices in 33 countries. More than 10’000 people are employed in Europe, 1’570 in R&D, across the 18 R&D centres:


  • Gent (Silicon Photonics Technology)
  • Leuven (RFIC)
  • Louvaine-la-Neuve (Application Software Architecture)


  • Helsinki (Terminal Terminal OS, European Security Competence Center)


  • Paris (Standard patent, Algorithm, Aesthetic)
  • Nice (Graphic chip design)


  • Nuremburg (Energy technology)
  • Munich (5G、Hardware and Engineering, Engineering Test center, Network Security)
  • Berlin (Standard patent)


  • Cork (OSS)
  • Dublin (OSS&BSS)


  • Milano (Microwave)


  • Stockholm (Wireless system)
  • Gothenburg (Wireless base stations)
  • Lund (Terminal chipset design)


  • Ipswich (Optoelectronics)
  • Cambridge (IoT, Wireless chip)
  • Bristol (CPU Core)

Huawei has also the following facilities in Europe:

  • 7 training centers
  • 2 technical assistance centers
  • 6 network operation centers in Italy, Netherlands, Romania, Spain and UK
  • 1 spare parts centers
  • 1 service center
  • 86 spare parts warehouses

Huawei's European headquarters are in Dusseldorf (Germany). Head of the European division is Vincent Pang (President Western Europe).